Fifers Named in New Year Honours List

A number of Fifers have been named in the Queen’s New Year Honours list.

Anthony Finn, a former headteacher at St Andrew’s High School in Kirkcaldy and later Chief Executive of the General Teaching Council for Scotland received a CBE for services to education.

Brian Wilson, head of security at the Scottish Parliament was given an OBE for voluntary service in Fife as well as public service to the Parliament.

Those receiving MBEs included:

Nichola Fletcher, Cupar – Services to the venison industry
Moira Hamilton, Dunfermline – Voluntary service in Fife.
Dr Nigel Kerby, Newport on Tay – Services to businesses and science.
Barbara Page, Kinghorn – Services to dermatological nursing.
Joan Taylor, Glenrothes – Services in complementary therapies.

Three Fifers were awarded British Empire Medals.

Robert Allan, Lochgelly – Services to the Lochgelly community.
Catherine Ferguson, Glenrothes, Services to charity in Fife.
Stuart Russell, Glenrothes – Voluntary services to Arts in Fife.